Team silver for both Queens & Kings at ACAC cross country championships

Photo - Tony Hansen
Photo - Tony Hansen

Brent Forster - RDC

Vermilion, AB – At the Vermilion Running Course where the RDC Cross Country runners experienced success at Grand Prix #4, the Queens & Kings had superb races, earning four medals at the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) Cross Country Running Championships in Vermilion Provincial Park. 

The RDC Queens captured team silver and were led by Jill Stewart (24:23) on the 6 km course. Individually, the third-year runner from Red Deer raced to a bronze medal finish. The Kodiaks' Sophia Nowicki (23:53) was the top ACAC female runner, sealing a gold medal. SAIT's Emilee Mann (24:18) picked up the silver.

RDC's Shayla Sklaruk (25:19) had a tremendous race as well, running to sixth spot. Shaelyn Moltzahn (26:14) was close behind in eighth and narrowly missed a spot on the All-Conference team, which went to the top seven ACAC runners.

The Lethbridge College Kodiaks women's team finished at the top, grabbing gold. The Concordia University Thunder placed in the bronze medal position.

The Kings also earned silver as a group. Over 8 km, Red Deer's Matthew Hope (26:19) was the fastest Kings runner on the day and won individual bronze. 

Matt Travaglini (25:26), of the SAIT Trojans, was the top male runner and Leonard Chesoo (25:46), of the Concordia University Thunder, followed with silver. RDC's Daniel Szucs (29:28) had a good day as well, and crossed the finish line ninth. 

The SAIT Trojans were the gold medal winners among male teams. The Lethbridge College Kodiaks locked up bronze.

The Queens & Kings qualified for the 2018 Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Cross Country Running National Championships in Toronto, November 10. Seneca College will host the national event. 


ACAC Cross Country Running Banquet and Awards Presentation on October 27, 2018 at Lakeland College

ACAC Women's Cross Country Running All-Conference team - Jill Stewart and Shayla Sklaruk



ACAC Women's Cross Country Running Rookie of the Year - Shayla Sklaruk


ACAC Men's Cross Country Running All-Conference team - Matthew Hope


ACAC Cross Country Running Coach of the Year - Kari Elliott