2017-18 National Scholar Award recipients

2017-18 National Scholar Award recipients

The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association is pleased to announce the National Scholar Award recipients for the 2017-18 season.

The CCAA National Scholar Award recognizes the outstanding academic accomplishments of student-athletes. To be recognized, a student-athlete must achieve honours standing at their institution in the current academic year.

Below is the list of RDC Kings and Queens being recognized for their achievements on and off the field of competition.

William Arciniegas Salazar, Soccer
Spencer Klassen, Basketball
David Austin, Curling Mary Krause, Basketball
Kyle Bett, Soccer Shaye Leidenius, Golf
Alyson Blain, Volleyball Sara McMann, Curling
Eva Bonde, Basketball Shaelyn Moltzahn, Cross-Country Running
Sadie Borgfjord, Cross-Country Running Evan Parchomchuk, Volleyball
Miranda Dawe, Volleyball Nicole Phillips, Soccer
Brittney Davis, Volleyball Katie Primrose, Curling
Austin Dennis, Volleyball Carter Snethun, Curling
Cory DeRaadt, Cross-Country Running Antonio Suhalj, Soccer
Jessie Handley, Basketball Adam Turlejski, Volleyball
Kelly Heinemann, Volleyball Jade Van Dyke, Volleyball
Ben Holmes, Volleyball Adam Wass, Cross-Country Running
Naomi Jardine, Volleyball Kalynna Watson, Curling
Chanelle Kayser, Volleyball Teryn Wright, Soccer


Ten RDC hockey players also met the requirements for the award but could not be included in the formal award recognition process as hockey is not a CCAA sport.  These Kings and Queens are:

Kirsten Baumgardt Austin Hunter
Jordyn Burgar Tracie Kikuchi
Trevor Costello Kaitlan Linnell
Karissa Cullum Nicole Spinks
Jenessa Fournier Dylan Thudium


Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2017-18 CCAA National Scholar Award!


Click here for the full list of recipients.